It’s Handmade Monday time again and what a hectic week it’s been!

Footings have been dug for Dad’s granny flat here and the concrete is due to be poured tomorrow. One of the builders collapsed with a suspected heart attack on Wednesday and was rushed to hospital (horrible because they are neighbours and friends not just contractors). Fortunately it was a fit rather than a heart attack, but that means he can’t drive, operate machinery or climb ladders for at least 6 months, so his son is having to do the bulk of the work. I think my husband might have had something to do with it because he’s been like an excited child ever since the mini-digger and dumper truck arrived on our drive, and finally on Friday he got to drive the dumper to help out. Here he is:

The Girl Guide fundraiser went reasonably well in spite of being poorly attended. I made these bumble bees to go with the ladybirds I showed you last week

I also found out about a fair in Hereford in April called Killer Heels which is to raise money for Save the Children, so my name is down for that.

Here I am on the stall – must remember to breathe in next time!

I also had my first go at making marmalade this week after I found some Seville oranges in the village shop. It’s quite a soft set so I’m not entirely happy with it, but the flavour is good which is always a bonus. It was also an excuse to get the family jam pan out again and remember Mum using it to make lots of delicious goodies.

Finally, I finished my first proper papier mache project. I have been wanting to make something like this for a long time, but never got round to it. I think I started this at the end of January, but rather than rush it, I wanted to do it properly, and I am rather pleased with the result. I love the bright pink and greens on the decoupaged paper and it looks stunning on my dresser.

Now I’m going over to 1st Unique Gifts to check out what everyone else has been up to. Why not join me there?

