That sounds like a bit of a contradiction doesn’t it? After all, a woolly vase would hardly be watertight, but my ingenious partner at Tickled Pink Crafts, Amanda, has come up with exactly that.

May I present the woolly vase:

I wonder if you can guess what they are made from (apart from wool of course!)?

Yes, empty handwash bottles – clever, isn’t it?!

Here’s what Amanda has to say about them, ” I love knitted stuff and actually look forward to cold weather so I can get my woollies out! So armed with a HUGE box of left over yarns of all different colours and textures and a desire to help the environment as much as possible – we always recycle as much as we can – I combined my love of wool with left over plastic handwash bottles to make pretty little vases that could be used to display Ann’s hand needle-felted flowers or a lovely spring posy.”

Here’s the one she has sent me put over a Carex handwash bottle (I have added a bow):

These unique and pretty covers will be available at the Wonder Hill Market this weekend (Saturday 31st March) where our stall will be manned by Amanda and stocked with other lovely Tickled Pink goodies, including these funky practical pots (recycled tin cans also with a hand knitted woolly jacket):

If you’re in the area, why don’t you pop along and see her. If not, then watch out for them in our Folksy shop, or contact us via our Facebook page and please feel free to leave us a comment or some feedback here too.

