Wasn’t it a glorious week? Sadly, I think that’s it for a while as the weather is forecast to turn very cold over the next few days – I had better leave my cucumber seedlings on the kitchen windowsill for a while longer.

Fortunately we had a lovely day today (after a miserable, cold, grey one yesterday) as we were celebrating a friend’s 40th birthday on our local common. We are very lucky to live so close to such a wonderful place, and it is amazing to see the change of seasons reflected in the plants and wildlife there. I made this cake to take to the picnic:

It’s a proper “grown-up” Birthday cake, full of fruit (apricots, cranberries, sour cherries, currants and raisins) which was soaked in cider overnight! Delicious if I say so myself.

Staying on a cunlinary theme, I made my first hot cross buns of the year this week too. I tried a different recipe this time and they have turned out to be much lighter and more tasty than previous batches. All these have now disappeared so it looks like I’ll have to make some more this week!
On a crafty theme I finished decorating a cloth shopping bag with lovely flowery fabric, buttons and needle-felted flowers.

This brings me to a question for all of you who make bags and take them to craft fairs. Just how do you show them on your stand to their best effect? It flummoxes me to some extent and I struggle to show them at their best. Any ideas would be welcomed.

I have also started to make some items on a fashion theme for the Killer Heels event in Hereford on 14th April.  They aren’t quite finished yet, so I think i will have to wait until next week to show you.

Now it’s time for me to pop over to Wendy’s blog at 1st Unique Gifts (congratulations on the #SBS event and meeting Theo Paphitis) who kindly hosts Handmade Monday for us every week. I’m very much looking forward to see what everyone else has been up to this week, and I highly recommend that you do too.

