Tags

, , , , ,

It’s that time of the week again, comes round very quickly but I couldn’t tell you where the time has gone! I’ve been home alone this week whilst my husband was in China on business. Well, not strictly alone as I was in sole charge of my 4 year old daughter, the three dogs, four fish and eight hens – it has been very hectic at times!

I have been busy making this week, but some of the makes are going to appear in a competition on the blog in the next few days, so I think I will keep those up my sleeve. I did manage to finish and submit my entries for the UK Handmade Summer Showcase. Here they are:

I finished the cupcakes with some tatted motifs and am really pleased with how they have worked out.

This actually leads me on to a question. My business partner, Amanda, did a fair in London yesterday and said that she had several people ask her what the cupcakes were – were they pincushions or……? Now I made them just as pretty things, something I would like to have in my house. But does an item have to have a purpose? Can it just be something pretty for the sake of it or should it “do” something? I would be interested to see what you think.

Husband came back from China yesterday and proceeded to rip our old bathroom apart. He discovered that the internal walls were made from chipboard with polystyrene tiles ingeniously used as insulation!!! I’m still reeling about how much of a fire hazard they were and wondering whether any other walls in the house are made of the same thing!

I am thrilled to have been nominated for a Versatile Blogger Award by Mich over at her great blog. I will post about this later in the week but just want to say a great big thank you to her.

I think that’s just about enough waffle for now. I’ve got a lot of blogging to do this week but am still going to pop over to Wendy’s blog at 1st Unique Gifts to check out all the other lovely Handmade Monday things that are going on. Until next week xxxx.

