Tags

, , , , , ,

Yes, it’s that time of the week again, and I for one, am hoping that the sunny warm weather we have been promised for next week materialises. I am fed up of looking at gloomy grey skies and still wearing my Ugg boots because it’s so cold! Fingers crossed.

We had our most successful day on the blog last week with Handmade Monday in its new home at Handmade Harbour! Thank you Wendy for all the hard work you do and joining us all together in this lovely, friendly, supportive community.

I have spent most of the week working on an idea based on the rag wreath I showed you last week – my friend loved it by the way, and her Mum is interested in buying one when I have worked out a cost.Ā  Here’s the idea.

I’m not sure what to call it really – a rag tree, a rag bouquet? I do think it is very pretty though and would work well as a table centrepiece at a wedding or special celebration. I’m particularly pleased with how I fixed it into the bucket, an inspired piece of crafting if I say so myself. My husband has moved and rebuilt a stud wall this week ready for our builders to skim and to fill some gaps in at the top he used some expandable spray foam which sets very hard. This was ideal for setting the tree/bouquet in the pot and it keeps the whole arrangement incredibly light but very firmly fixed!

I mentioned last week that I had been working on something that I wasn’t entirely happy with. I’m still not, but I’ll show you anyway.

It’s a button bouquet made from vintage and modern buttons and beads. Now, I’m happy with the overall look and had great fun making up all the individual “flowers” but I’m not happy with how they are fixed or how it is finished. I think I have solved the fixing issue as florist’s wire worked very well on the tree/bouquet so it should do the trick with this too, but the finishing is still bothering me a little bit.Ā  Just a bit more thought and I’ll get there I’m sure.

I’ll go and link up to the other Handmade Monday posts now and then spend a lovely hour or two browsing through the other fabulous blogs on there. Have a fabulous week and see you same time, same place next Sunday.

