Tags

, , , , , ,

Welcome to another Handmade Monday. We have had half-term this week, seemingly a week earlier than most of the rest of the country, and it’s been lovely (most of the time!) having Daisy at home. So, not much new to report in the way of making things, but we have been busy doing “stuff”!

On Monday she came along to help me man my stall at the Mummies Make it Better Craft Fair. She had a great time as a lot of the other stall holders had brought their little ones with them and they all got together and played, did the treasure hunt and occupied themselves whilst the Mummies got on with selling. I did quite well considering the low turnout and had a lot of lovely compliments.  There is another fair scheduled for 3rd December which I think will be better attended as it is so near to Christmas. Here are a couple of photos of my stall.

My husband took a couple of days off work at the end of the week and on Thursday we went to Castell Coch. This is just a magical place, a princess castle right out of a fairytale. It was originally built in Medieval times but fell into ruin and was eventually bought by the 3rd Marquess of Bute. He rebuilt and renovated it in the 1870’s with the help of William Burges, a renowned architect and designer. He was influenced by the Arts and Crafts movement and the interiors are spectacularly over the top, with gilding, animals, painted walls, statues, fabrics and amazing creations. Daisy loved it, and even got to go under the ropes to open the secret drawers and cupboards in one of the bedrooms! It’s a very inspiring place, and I thoroughly recommend it if you are able to visit.

Then yesterday we went to Bristol and had a look round the museum. Daisy was very taken with the stuffed animals – how times have changed – and I love the Egyptian exhibits. My favourite exhibit was this painting – it’s called Will He Come Back and if you look carefully at the red writing on the wall, the name on there is Sapper Alexander Murray. I found it very poignant, especially in the world we live in today. We also managed a quick trip to Ikea for some more storage units for the play/craft room which I have been trying to sort out today.

So, it’s Christmas cakes this week and maybe some diffrent toadstools! I will go and link up at Handmade Harbour and browse through the lovely blogs there with my glass of red in hand! Have a lovely week and see you all next Sunday.

