Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Wow, what a week! Little did I know on Monday that on Thursday I would be shooting off to London with my lovely friend B to an exclusive preview of the Boden Spring/Summer 2013 collection at their press day!!

It all started with B posting a very tongue in cheek but heartfelt plea on their Facebook page asking for a makeover, and within 48 hours she (and I, as moral support) were on the train to London to go and see them!! Now, apparently Boden don’t usually do this kind of thing, but were taken by the genuine nature of B’s letter and felt moved to do something for her.

We had the most fabulous day! A pre-booked taxi was waiting for us at Paddington which whisked us off to Somerset House for the preview. Chloe and Hayley from Boden were two of the lovliest girls you could ever want to meet and treated us like VIPs, no hint of London snootiness or airs and graces at all. We had drinks and food laid on and a personal guide to the collection, able to handle the clothes and take photos of them so that we could see how the items go together. Then a treat of hand and arm massage by Elemis and a blow dry courtesy of Nicky Clarke’s London salon in their pamper room. We also rubbed shoulders with actress Sarah Parish, Jenni Falconer and Donna Air, and best of all we met and spoke to Mr Johnnie Boden himself!!
The collection itself is fabulous, lots of bright and cheerful colours and prints that can easily be mix and matched, along with beautiful occasion clothes in sumptuous materials. Prints are back and colour blocking is the way to go, some of the shoes are to die for in bright patents and practical wedge styles. The men’s collection is fun and funky as well as being smart, and the children’s wear is to die for!! I highly recommend that you take a look.

Back down to earth with a bump and I have been busy making things for the Christmas fairs that I have coming up.

The first is a wreath made from those lovely Scandinavian style fabrics that I keep harping on about. It was inspired by a papercrafting demo that I saw, Dad and Hubby think it looks like a ship’s wheel, but I like it – how about you?

The second make is another wreath, this time on a wire frame, but again using the same fabric.

And finally, inspired by the success of Daisy’s drawstring bag last week, here’s a present bag rather than stocking. The charms on it say WISH and BELIEVE which I think is quite appropriate for the time of year. I only wish my applique had improved, but it hasn’t! I’d better keep practising!

And so I’m going to link this post up at Handmade Harbour and have a peek round the other gorgeous Handmade Monday blogs. Not sure how much crafting will be done this week as it’s Daisy’s birthday on Saturday and she’s given me the challenge of making a Barbie Mermaid cake! HELP!!!

