Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Apologies for being absent from Handmade Monday last week, things have been very hectic here.

Last Saturday was Daisy’s 5th birthday, so we celebrated with this:

In the afternoon she went to a friend’s birthday party at the local village hall. It was a fantastic party, enhanced by the fact that her Mum is the sister-in-law of the local fish and chip shop proprietor, so it was fish and chips all round as party food!

The evening was spent on a rare night out with hubby and our friends at a local pub which had a live band. I will spare you the gory details, but needless to say I ended up standing on the benches at the back of the pub, dancing and shaking a tambourine! A good night was had by all!

This Sunday was the date for our annual open house party – started as a house-warming the year we moved in, but carried on into a regular event as, although hard work, it’s lovely to get our family and friends in one place and celebrate with them (over 60 people this year, slightly down on last year which was somewhere in the region of 75!). Luckily for me, my mother-in-law bought me one of these last week, which certainly helped with all the cooking and baking. I can’t believe how easy it is to make bread now, without all the tedious kneading.

Here is this year’s spread, which included:

  • cheese and onion pies
  • parmesan and prosciutto bread
  • cheddar bread
  • honey sausages
  • boiled ham
  • raspberry marshmallows
  • cinder toffee
  • ginger cakes
  • fairy cakes
  • Schokoladegugelhupf
  • pavlova
  • baked cheesecake
  • macaroons
  • chelsea buns

So, it’s been a very busy week but not a lot of crafting has been going on. I’ve a couple of orders to fulfil this week and also a fair on Saturday and one on Monday so I need to get my felting fingers out to make up for the lost time. However, I might treat myself to a day off today and put my feet up on the sofa with a cuppa and the rest of the Handmade Monday blogs! Have a lovely week. xxx

