Tags

, , , , , ,

Yes, I’m sorry, it’s Handmade Monday time and I’m going to mention Christmas! I know it’s only September and that school has only just started, but it’s only round the corner and I need to start building up some stocks in time for all the fairs that will be happening.

The first things I’ve started to make are these.

When I can find my hangers (which have been put somewhere safe whilst all the building work is going on) these will be turned into baubles. They proved very popular last year along with my fat robins so I am hoping they will be again.

I have also made two of these

The adorable laser cut chairs are made by Daisymoon Designs, who make the most amazing pieces from laser cut wood, you really should have a good look round all their wonderful things. I couldn’t resist giving him his own present, which I made from some odds and ends of Fimo that I had in my craft cupboard and I have some suitably Christmassy fabric ready to make him a comfy cushion. I also have two bench type chairs that I thought might look good with a felted creature sitting next to a pile of presents. And a question for you – do you think I should paint the chairs white, or leave them as they are? I can’t get a sensible answer from my family!

In other news, my fireplace is now finished although the woodburner hasn’t been refitted yet. I’m hoping that it will be back in place very soon given the horrible weather that we have had today. It looks even better now that it has all been painted white in readiness for the final coat of colour.

Earlier in the week I took the opportunity to pick some haws from our local common. I have turned them into Saucy Haw Chutney from this book. It is slowly becoming my bible for preserves of all types, I can highly recommend the recipe for Pontack Sauce which I made last year and have just begun to use in stews and other sauces. It adds a richness and flavour that are wonderful.

And that’s just about it for this week, except to say that you should go over to Handmade Harbour and have a look at all the other lovely blogs there (including this one when I have linked up). Have a wonderful week.