Tags

, , , ,

This week has really whizzed by and I can hardly believe it’s time for Handmade Monday again!

I’ve had a busy weekend, celebrating a birthday with a wonderful friend on Saturday night and then a visit to WonderWool with another friend today. WonderWool was great with lots of beautiful fibres, wool and ideas, the only downside being the temperature which was arctic! We both ended up having to buy some lovely merino wool hand knitted socks to save our feet from freezing – I felt so sorry for all the exhibitors who couldn’t walk around to keep warm! I kept my purchases to a minimum (believe that and you’ll believe anything) and have a very exciting felting project up my sleeve!

I have made a couple of things this week which I am very pleased with, both inspired by folk dolls. The first is a Russian Matryoshka doll.

She took quite a long time to make but I am really pleased with her and am hoping to eventually make a set of three – small, medium and large – but haven’t quite worked out how to make the small one yet.

The second doll is a Japanese Kokeshi doll.

My husband used to work for a Japanese company and spent a lot of time over there, so I have amassed quite a collection of these which I used as models for this one. She even has chopsticks in her hair! Again I am really happy with the result and have started a second in a vibrant blue colour.

I’m going to take the dolls along to the Bizart fair in Malvern this coming weekend and see what the reaction is. I do hope that people will like them as much as I do.

This week has also seen the first competition on my blog. You still have time to enter, so please click here and join in. The closing time has been extended until midnight UK time on Monday 30th April and I’m looking forward to seeing what you can come up with.

I’m going to link up with Wendy at 1st Unique Gifts and to cheer myself up after all this miserable weather (it’s still raining here in Herefordshire’s Golden Valley) I’m going to take a look at all the other lovely Handmade Monday blogs – you should take a look too!